Why teachers can’t sleep.

It’s 12:30 a.m. and I am wide awake.  I don’t want to be awake, but I have all these things weighing on my mind.

  1.  I am taking my mom to the hospital tomorrow morning at 6:00 a.m. for surgery.  Of course I’m worried.  That’s why I’m awake.
  2. It is unbearably cold here in Indiana right now and most area districts have called for a 2-hr delay in the morning in hopes that the temperatures will rise.  My district has not.  Here is why I am worried.  Will my district opt to cancel school tomorrow altogether and make it an e- learning day?

Are you seeing my dilemma?  I took the day off.  I went in on Sunday and made sub plans in order to be with my mom.

If school cancels, I am going to be creating e-lessons on a computer that has only 1/2 battery power remaining.  Creating lessons that both educate and inspire my students…without me.  This is so much easier said than done .

Then, somehow between carting my mom to and from her surgery and taking care of her while she is home, I must be at my computer available to my students.

Yep.  This is why I am not sleeping.  I know you hard working teachers out there understand my fears all too well.

You, too, are probably up still grading, lesson planning, copying, creating , etc for your amazing students tomorrow.

If you do get some rest, don’t oversleep.  🙂

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

