Book Trailers Encourage Reading

AprilBlogADay #2

book trailers

Need another way to help generate a love of reading among your middle school students?  Visit YouTube for an amazing array of book trailers…yes, BOOK trailers.

Just like movie trailers, book trailers show just enough plot and action to entice students to read the book.  I try to show one or two trailers a week, but sometimes I do more based on student requests.   Without fail, every book in my classroom library and our school media center is checked out within two days of showing a trailer.  I have created a “Book Wait List” because I only have 2-3 copies of some titles.  I try to showcase a different genre each week, and I love that students will read outside of their comfort zone.

Now, be forewarned…not all book trailers are created equal.  You will definitely want to watch them before showing them to your students.

Here are some links to some of my students’ favorite trailers.  Enjoy.

Matched by Ally Condie

The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak (this one is the movie trailer)

— Interview with Markus Zuzak (to accompany The Book Thief trailer)

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Girl, Stolen by April Henry

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (movie trailer)

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (book trailer)

The Odyssey by Homer

The Odyssey by Homer

Unwind by Neal Shusterman (this one has some graphic audio if you are bothered by medical stuff)

These are just a few of the trailers I show, and I often show movie trailers when movies are coming out.  It is my way of trying to get the students to read the book first.

IMG_20151005_065824707

 

Have you had success showing book trailers?  What are some of your favorites?  I would love to add to my collection.  

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

